Past Webinars

Thank you for your interest in the OCASI webinar series for service providers and refugee sponsorship groups. Below you will find the recording and presentation slides of previous webinars. For a list of upcoming webinars, please click here.

Settlement Service Eligibility & Intake

Monday, December 11, 2017
Speakers: Lisa Magliocco, Wesley Urban Ministries & Sylvia Wootten, Newcomer Centre of Peel

What Are Settlement Services About?

Monday, November 27, 2017
Speakers: Amanda Choo, WoodGreen Community Services

The Settlement Sector: Values & Principles

Monday, November 20, 2017
Speakers: Lisa Randall, CultureLink & Shankari Balendra, Access Alliance MCHC
Lisa's Presentation slide deck
Shankari's Presentation slide deck

Handling a Client’s Disclosure of Domestic Violence

Tuesday, May 23, 2017, 12:00-1:00PM
Speakers: Fatima Filippi, Rexdale Women’s Centre & Sidrah Maysoon Ahmad, OCASI

Beyond Kale and Pedicures: Strategies to combat compassion fatigue and burnout

Monday, May 29, 2017, 12:30-1:30PM
Speaker: Françoise Mathieu, Co-Executive Director, TEND
Francoise's Presentation slide deck

Working with Refugees in Remote or Rural Areas

Thursday, June 8, 2017, 12:30-1:30PM
Speaker: Orlando Ferro, Quinte United Immigration Services
Orlando's Presentation slide deck

Handling ‘High Expectations’

Monday, June 12, 2017, 12:30-1:30PM
Speaker: Maryam Rahat, Wesley Urban Ministries
Maryam's Presentation slide deck

Responding to refugee sponsorship conflict, dispute and breakdown

Monday, June 26, 2017, 12:30-1:30PM
Speaker: Suneet Kharay, Refugee Sponsorship Training Program
Suneet's Presentation Slide deck Case scenario

Collaborating to assist refugee clients with their settlement needs

Thursday, June 29, 2017, 12:30-1:30PM
Speaker: Fatima Mussa, Access Alliance Multicultural Health and Community Services
Fatima's Presentation Slide deck

Keeping up-to-date

Monday, July 31, 2017, 12:00-1:00PM
Speaker: Sara Shahsiah, OCASI
‎Sara's Presentation slide deck

Working Effectively with Professional Interpreters

Thursday, August 17, 2017, 12:00-1:00PM
Speaker: Grace Eagan, Access Alliance Language Services
Grace's Presentation slide deck

Resources for frontline workers: The Refugee Sponsorship Support Program

Thursday, July 27, 2017, 12:00-1:00PM
Speaker: Kelsey Lange
Kelsey's Presentation slide deck

WelcomeOntario Flyer: